Maddison was eventually named in England’s World Cup squad

LONDON: Leicester winger James Maddison is in England’s 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Maddison’s inclusion was the biggest surprise for The Three Lions manager Gareth Southgate as the 25-year-old had previously been tipped to be ruled out.

This is the first time Maddison, who has only made one appearance with the national squad, has been listed since 2019.

Maddison was previously ‘glued’ by Southgate when he said he was too ill to play in the European Championship (Euro) 2020 qualifier against the Czech Republic, but at the same time was seen enjoying himself at the casino.

His first and last appearance for England was when he came on as a substitute against Montenegro in November 2019.

Excellent action since the beginning of the year, being directly involved in 22 English Premier League goals is one of the factors that pushed Southgate back to list him.


Newcastle forward Callum Wilson is also in the squad for Qatar, but there is no room for AS Roma star Tammy Abraham, Ivan Toney (Brentford) or Jarrod Bowen (West Ham).

For the rest, there are no surprises for Southgate, where Harry Maguire and Manchester City duo Kyle Walker and Kalvin Phillips will lead the defence.

Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale and Nick Pope filled the goalkeeper position.


Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold also received a call-up to the national squad, in addition to Luke Shaw, John Stones, Conor Coady, Ben White and Kieran Trippier.

Declan Rice, Mason Mount, Jordan Henderson and Jude Bellingham fill the midfield, while Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Marcus Rashford, Raheem Sterling, Phil Foden and Jack Grealish form the attack. – AGENCIES


Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal)

Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea)
Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United)

Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United), Michael Dominski

Source link

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected] . The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a Comment